Musings

Farewell 2016

img_2731-1

It would seem like the universal consensus on 2016 is that it was an awful year – filled with nothing but death and sadness. The thing is, when I was mulling over the past year, trying to think of what I would include in the recap of the last 12 months I realized that, contrary to the popular idea, I actually had an amazing 2016. Granted, it could’ve ended a lot better, which is probably what pushed me into the “2016 is terrible” camp, but then, looking at this post, I see now that I really have nothing to complain about. To illustrate, here, in no particular order, are snapshots of 5 of my memorable moments of 2016.


MY BEST FRIEND GOT MARRIED


I GOT “ARRESTED” FOR A DONUT


ONE OF MY TWEETS WENT VIRAL


I EXPLORED


I FOUND A PLACE OF MY OWN


There are many more parts of 2016 I could celebrate – I was in a wonderful relationship up until recently, and I can only think fondly of the moments we spent together. I met some lovely new people. I witnessed so much love. My career took off. I won a few competitions. I did my first 10km race. And those are just off the top of my head.

2016 made me realize that I am loved and blessed, and I am thankful for every experience and optimistic that 2017 will be as good, if not better.

Leave a Reply

